Freelance Photographer | East Africa

It’s Simple, Really

If you had asked me a few years ago if I was a “kid person,” my typical response would consist of a crinkled nose and a sinking head bow and a haphazard, “not really my thing” would follow.

I wouldn’t say that I’ve purposely avoided them but I probably have. Only one of my close friends in Nairobi (who also happens to have been my fourth grade teacher) has a child. However, her daughter, Joccoa, always seems to make everything seem okay in the world when I’m with her. In fact my room is decorated with pictures she has drawn for me over the past year and a half.

She was the first to really strike me of the wisdom children have. The simplicity in her love.

In February I spent several days on an assignment with deaf children in Eastern Kenya. They, too, further deepened the admiration in my heart for the innocence of youth. They seemed to want nothing in return for their love other than love.

For the past week I have been working in Uganda with an international organization called One Hope. Their focus is to reach the children of the world with the truth from the Bible.

This has translated to basically an entire week surrounded by children. And what an incredible week it’s been. One filled with hearty smiles and bright laughter.

I can’t say there’s any one thing I’ve taken from this trip other than this: Faith and Love are far more simple than we make it out to be.

07-06-13_Mbale02-web Lugogo Baptist Church Kampala, Uganda 07-08-13_Arua07-web  07-09-13_Arua15-web Lugogo Baptist Church Kampala, Uganda Norah Achan (raising hand) Sunday School

One response

  1. Susan Seagle Boze

    Hi Christena. This is a beautiful post. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    July 10, 2013 at 12:22 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers