On the road… again!

It’s been about four months since my bag was lost in France. While those four months have been happily spent in East Africa, I’m back in Paris with only carry on luggage. Couldn’t afford to risk that again.

May was filled with the wedding festivities of my (now former) roommate, Eunice. Her special day took almost 5,000 images out of me, something I never thought possible and I hope never happens again. But it was amazing to be there and helping out on her big day!

_CCD9885 DSC_2426 DSC_2463

June was spent with Save the Children in South Sudan working on a “timeline” project in which the stories of children from newborn to 17 were told to bring awareness to the work STC has been doing in preparation for South Sudan’s 4th anniversary as a country.

Photo by Christena Dowsett Athieng, aged 16, washes her face at the family home in Mingkaman, South Sudan before heading to Padaar Primary School. She said “I enjoy going to school because I want to have a good future. I have seen that people who go to school can get employed. I would like to become a doctor. Right now not enough people have this knowledge and I see people suffering. I want to have the knowledge to help them."
Athieng, aged 16, washes her face at the family home in Mingkaman, South Sudan before heading to Padaar Primary School. She said “I enjoy going to school because I want to have a good future. I have seen that people who go to school can get employed. I would like to become a doctor. Right now not enough people have this knowledge and I see people suffering. I want to have the knowledge to help them.”
Photo by Christena Dowsett Nyachan (15 months) has her height measured during a testing for Severe Acute Malnutrition (SAM) at the Save the Children stabilisation centre in Waat, South Sudan. “When my child got sick my neighbour told me that I should bring her here as they would be able to make her better," said her mother, Nyawour (35).
Nyachan (15 months) has her height measured during a testing for Severe Acute Malnutrition (SAM) at the Save the Children stabilisation centre in Waat, South Sudan. “When my child got sick my neighbour told me that I should bring her here as they would be able to make her better,” said her mother, Nyawour (35).
Photo by Christena Dowsett Nyaping and her children wait for milk to boil after milking the goats given by Save the Children in Waat, South Sudan. The family came from Malakal to Waat, South Sudan in December 2013. They were given four female goats and one male goat in order to help provide milk  for the children and income for the family.
Nyaping and her children wait for milk to boil after milking the goats given by Save the Children in Waat, South Sudan. The family came from Malakal to Waat, South Sudan in December 2013. They were given four female goats and one male goat in order to help provide milk for the children and income for the family.

July I was at home in Nairobi, resting, and trying to wrap my head around what’s coming in the next few months. For those of you who haven’t heard, I will be starting a full time job in January with an American NGO (non-profit) called World Concern. This has been in the works since I left Canada in April but I’m more and more confident that this is the right next step for me. I have added many of you to my newsletter list but it seems that for over half of you, the email went to spam. Bummer! If you want to know more about what I’ll be doing for the next two years, and how to help me in that process, you can check out the original newsletter I sent out. I also did a one day shoot with them in Narok, Kenya to get a couple shots for their gift catalog.

07-21-15_Narok03

August was spent working on my personal project in Turkana (which I will continue to work on while with World Concern). It was a good couple of weeks which turned out some really amazing images and a great story that I will be sharing soon, once it’s published!

Photo by Christena Dowsett Father Florian prepares for sunday mass in Illeret, Kenya. Florian has been working in the area since 2002 with the Daasanach tribe.
Father Florian prepares for sunday mass in Illeret, Kenya. Florian has been working in the area since 2002 with the Daasanach tribe.
Photo by Christena Dowsett An alter boy greets Father Florian after a service in Illeret, Kenya. Florian has been working in the area since 2002 with the Daasanach tribe.
An alter boy greets Father Florian after a service in Illeret, Kenya. Florian has been working in the area since 2002 with the Daasanach tribe.

September so far has been spent in France where I attended a massive photojournalism conference in Perpignan and then have been working in Dijon, France for Wycliffe Global Alliance. Later this week I head to Senegal with them to finish up a three-part story on the spread of language around the world.

Perp-Maryvonne
Photo courtesy of Maya Hautefeuille
09-11-15_FrancisDijon04
Francis prepares to lead a Bible study with other members from his church in Dijon, France. He moved from Dakkar, Senegal three years to France for school.

The good news… is that from beginning of October till at least December I will be stateside and want to see as many of your shinning faces as possible. Right now my locations for various lengths of time will be Texas, Kentucky, Seattle, NYC, and North Carolina. If you’re in one of those places give me a shout and let’s make a date!

On the road… again!

3 thoughts on “On the road… again!

Leave a Reply

